Nobody Leaves Mid-Hudson on stage at 2018 Gala

Frederick Douglass Awardee: Nobody Leaves Mid-Hudson

This year’s gala was all about power—the power of our community to come together to fight for what we believe in, and to celebrate each other and our victories.

We had a great time—close to 600 people were part of an evening of celebration and recognition of the hard work that goes into building our local movements for justice. Here’s a quick video that captures some of the flavor of the evening:

By coming together and giving, you contributed over $1 million dollars for grassroots organizing in New York City and the Hudson Valley.

Over the course of the evening we heard from artists, food justice leaders, immigration justice leaders, union activists and more. Thank you to all who came, who invited people, who pledged, who danced, and who spoke from the stage.

We’ve also got photo highlights from the event up on our Facebook page. If you didn’t make it to the gala, you can still join us at an upcoming event, or make a donation to go towards North Star Fund grants and programs.

Thanks to our 2018 Co-chairs:

Asa & Jodi Lu Johnson
Barbara Winslow
Candis Tolliver
Gene Carroll
GFP Real Estate
Holly Fetter
Hugh Hogan
Jennifer Goodale & Mark Russell
Jerome L. Greene Foundation
Maggie Williams
Katrina vanden Heuvel
Michael Waterman & Yuka Hagiwara
Nisha Atre & Art Richardson
Rashad Robinson
Tom Cramer & Michele Burger
Vincent McGee

Along with our host committee and honorees for their extra effort for this special evening.

Thanks to our community for all that you do to support strong movements for justice in New York!

Subscribe to our mailing list

North Star Fund will use the information you provide on this form to be in touch with you and to provide updates and marketing. Please let us know all the ways you would like to hear from us:

You can change your mind at any time by clicking the unsubscribe link in the footer of any email you receive from us, or by contacting us at We will treat your information with respect. For more information about our privacy practices please visit our website. By clicking below, you agree that we may process your information in accordance with these terms.

We use Mailchimp as our marketing platform. By clicking below to subscribe, you acknowledge that your information will be transferred to Mailchimp for processing. Learn more about Mailchimp’s privacy practices here.